Motherhood · Parenting · Uncategorized

That Mother’s guilt..

Nothing has made me feel more guilty than leaving my baby in the care of someone else. After a year plus of being a stay at home mom, I went back to work. It’s already been 3 months since I started working again and it still hurts just as much as that first day I left her at daycare.

I hate this feeling.

I love my job, don’t get me wrong. I’m lucky to go to work to a place that is challenging, provides flexibility, and is close to home (yay! No commute!!) but being away from Baby S. sucks!

I think I have come up with a couple of ways to cope:

  1. I tell myself over and over that everything I do is for her. To give her a better life and to be a great example of success. That she can have it all!
  2. I make my work days short and always take the time after work to bond with her. It could be playing or just cuddling together! Whatever she may prefer.
  3. I make weekends extra special. I make sure not to get bogged down by chores and make sure to enjoy the time with her fully.
  4. From time to time I cry, but then I look at a happy baby and give myself a pat on the back because that baby is happy and I (and my husband) made that smile possible!

I’m not alone. Millions of women go to work everyday and leave their kids in daycare. But just because millions do it doesn’t make it any Easier.

This is my journey. And if you are a new mommy struggling with the transition of going back to work please know that some days it’s easier and some days are just hard. At least for me it is. Cry. It’s ok. Know that whatever you decide to do it’s your baby and you know best.

#holdthemclose

zulmari-

One thought on “That Mother’s guilt..

Leave a Reply

